Project Description

FOUNDED IN 1686 IN COLONIAL NEW ENGLAND DURING THE REIGN OF KING JAMES II

The original building built in 1688 was a wooden church.
It was built on a town burial ground since no one in Boston wanted to sell a desirable land to the non-puritan Anglican community.
Today’s stone church was built around the original wooden structure and finished in 1754. The wood from the original church was carefully disassembled and shipped to Lunenburg, Nova Scotia and used to build St. John’s Anglican Church..

King's Chapel

MORE FROM THE AMAZING ECKTOUR BOSTON FREEDOM TRAIL